

San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM:

SUBJECT:

Website: www.sdlafco.org

Chairman

Bill Horn County Board of Supervisors

December 5, 2016



Vice Chairman

Sam Abed Mayor City of Escondido TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

Executive Officer

Members

Dianne Jacob County Board of Supervisors

Andrew Vanderlaan Public Member

Lorie Zapf Councilmember City of San Diego

Lorraine Wood Councilmember City of Carlsbad

Jo MacKenzie Vista Irrigation District

Ed Sprague Olivenhain Municipal Water District

Alternate Members

Greg Cox County Board of Supervisors

Chris Cate Councilmember City of San Diego

Racquel Vasquez Councilmember City of Lemon Grove

Harry Mathis Public Member

Judy Hanson Leucadia Wastewater District

Executive Officer

Michael D. Ott

Legal Counsel

Michael G. Colantuono

Commissioners are appointed to four-year terms on the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO). Public members are directly appointed by the Commission, while all other members are selected by the legislative bodies and organizations represented on the Commission (e.g., county, city, and district). Incumbent regular public member Andrew Vanderlaan's four-

Appointment / Reappointment of a Regular Public Member

year term will expire in 2017; therefore, the Commission needs to provide direction as to the process that should be followed for his reappointment, or alternatively, appointment. If reappointed, Mr. Vanderlaan's new term would begin on June 5, 2017 and expire the first Monday in May of 2021. Should the Commission wish to take an alternative action, then direction should be

provided at the December 5th meeting.

As the Commission is aware, Mr. Vanderlaan has been the public member since 1996. He was unanimously reappointed four times in 2000, 2004, 2008, and 2012. Mr. Vanderlaan is a very active member of the Commission and has served on numerous LAFCO-related committees locally and statewide. He is currently a member of the Commission's East County Fire Protection Committee and Budget Committee, and was recently appointed as Chairman of the Southern Region of CALAFCO. He previously served on the Commission's Task Force on Fire Protection, Audit Committee, Rules and Budget Committees, Coalition of California LAFCOs, and the CALAFCO Executive Board. He also held leadership positions with the San Diego LAFCO by serving multiple terms as its Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Given Mr. Vanderlaan's extensive LAFCO experience and involvement, he qualifies for reappointment based on the Commission's standard factors of consideration, such as attendance record, participation and interest level, plus leadership ability/skill. Therefore, the Commission should provide direction at the December meeting regarding the reappointment of Mr. Vanderlaan to a new four-year term. There are no term limits for commission

positions; therefore, the Commission may reappoint Mr. Vanderlaan to a new four-year term beginning on June 5, 2017. This agenda item was noticed per the special provisions in Government Code Sections 56325(d) and 56158. If the Commission takes alternative action involving recruitment, then Commissioners should be aware that a recruitment would take about 4-5 months to complete and cost approximately \$5,000 for the associated advertising, application review and interview process.

It is hoped that the above information will assist the Commission in making an informed decision regarding the public member position. Therefore, it is:

RECOMMENDED: That your Commission,

Receive a staff presentation and direct the Executive Officer to complete the paperwork for the reappointment of Mr. Vanderlaan to a new four-year term, effective June 5, 2017 through May 3, 2021, or alternatively, provide direction for the commencement of a recruitment.

Respectfully subprifited,

MICHAEL D. OTT Executive Officer

MDO:eb