

## San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM:

Website: www.sdlafco.org

#### Chairman

Bill Horn County Board of Supervisors

December 5, 2016

10

### Vice Chairman

Sam Abed Mayor City of Escondido TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

**Executive Officer** 

#### Members

Dianne Jacob County Board of Supervisors

Andrew Vanderlaan Public Member

Lorie Zapf Councilmember City of San Diego

Lorraine Wood Councilmember City of Carlsbad

Jo MacKenzie Vista Irrigation District

Ed Sprague Olivenhain Municipal Water District

## **Alternate Members**

Greg Cox County Board of Supervisors

Chris Cate Councilmember City of San Diego

Racquel Vasquez Councilmember City of Lemon Grove

Harry Mathis Public Member

Judy Hanson Leucadia Wastewater District

### **Executive Officer**

Michael D. Ott

## Legal Counsel

Michael G. Colantuono

SUBJECT: Selection of 2017 LAFCO Chair and Vice Chair

Towards the end of each calendar year, the Commission selects a Chair and Vice Chair for the subsequent year. For 2015-16, the Commission retained Supervisor Horn and Mayor Abed as Chairman and Vice Chairman, respectively, for a two-year time period. The terms for these two Commission officers will expire on December 31, 2016, unless further direction is provided on December 5<sup>th</sup>. Among the options available for the Commission would be to: (1) Retain the current officers (Chairman Horn and Mayor Abed as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively), (2) Move Vice Chairman Sam Abed to the Chairman position and select a new Vice Chair, or (3) Appoint a new Chair/Vice Chair.

The Commission should be aware that Mayor Abed's overall term on LAFCO is scheduled for expiration on May 1, 2017, unless the City Selection Committee waives its geographic rotation policy. Should the Commission appoint Mayor Abed as its Chairman, the special district category occupied by Commissioners MacKenzie or Sprague would be the next in line for the Vice Chair position -- if the Commission follows a rotation policy. In making these annual decisions, the Commission usually considers any or all of the following: (1) rotation among primary (regular) members and membership categories (county, city, district, public); (2) expected workload and anticipated types of jurisdictional changes; (3) qualifications of commission officers.

With respect to major workload activities in 2017, the Commission will be reviewing complex jurisdictional proposals involving the Ramona MWD, CSA No. 17 (San Dieguito Paramedic/Ambulance Service); Alpine FPD; Greenwood Memorial Cemetery Island Annexation involving the City of San Diego; CSA No. 115 (Pepper Drive) Reorganization involving Lakeside FPD and San Miguel Consolidated FPD; several large annexations involving San Marcos and Escondido; and the Unincorporated Island Annexation Program (contingent on approval at the December 5<sup>th</sup> meeting).

If the Commission opts to retain the current officers, it should provide associated direction. However, if it wishes to rotate new members into a leadership role, it would be logical to move Vice Chairman Abed into the Chair position and appoint a regular district member (MacKenzie or Sprague) as Vice Chair, since a commissioner from the district category has not served in an officer capacity for an entire term since 2010. Therefore, it is:

# **RECOMMENDED:** That your Commission,

Review the attached summary of past LAFCO officers and provide direction as to the appointment of a 2017 Chair and Vice Chair, effective January 1, 2017.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL D. OTT Executive Officer

MDO:eb

## **Attachment**

Summary of LAFCO Chair and Vice Chair

## SUMMARY OF LAFCO CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR 2006-2016

Year Category	<u>Chair</u>	<u>Category</u>	Vice Chair
2006       Public         2007       Public         2008       Public         2009       County         2010       District         2011       City         2012       County         2013       Public         2014       Public         2015       County         2016       County	Vanderlaan Vanderlaan Vanderlaan Horn Pocklington Hilliard Jacob Vanderlaan Vanderlaan Horn Horn	County County District City County Public District District City City City City City City City	Horn Horn Pocklington Hilliard Jacob Vanderlaan Ingalls Ingalls/Horn Abed Abed

# 2016-17 Roster San Diego LAFCO

County Members	Representation Category	Term Expires
Supervisor Bill Horn Supervisor Dianne Jacob Supervisor Greg Cox	(Regular Member) (Regular Member) (Alternate Member)	2017* 2017* 2017*
City Members		
Councilmember Lorie Zapf Councilmember Cate	(City of San Diego Regular Member)** (San Diego Alternate Member)**	2016* 2016*
Mayor Sam Abed Councilmember Lorraine Wood Councilmember Racquel Vasquez	(Regular Member) (Regular Member) (Alternate Member)	2017 2019 2017
<u>District Members</u>		
Jo Mackenzie Ed Sprague <i>Judy Hanson</i>	(Regular Member) (Regular Member) (Alternate Member)	2020 2019 2019
Public Member		
Andrew Vanderlaan Harry Mathis (Alternate)	(Regular Member) (Alternate Member)	2017 2019

<sup>\*</sup> Term reviewed annually by appointing authority.

<sup>\*\*</sup> The City of San Diego has permanent representation on the San Diego LAFCO per Government Code Section 56328 and is not subject to the appointment process conducted by the City Selection Committee.