

AGENDA REPORT Consent | Information

December 4, 2023

TO: Commissioners

FROM: Erica Sellen, Acting Commission Clerk

Commissioner Terms SUBJECT:

SUMMARY

The San Diego County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) will receive its annual report on individual Commissioner terms. One term is set to expire in April 2024 and involves one of the two voting special district seats currently held by Commissioner MacKenzie, which necessitates an election administered by LAFCO as detailed. The report is being presented for information.

BACKGROUND

State law prescribes the composition of San Diego LAFCO shall include 13 Commissioners divided between eight "regular" and five "alternate" members. Members are drawn from five membership categories as detailed below.

- Three "county" members are appointed by the County of San Diego Board of Supervisors and divided by two regulars and one alternate. All three county members must be on the Board and can be selected from any of the supervisorial districts.
- Three "city" members are appointed by the City Selection Committee (mayors) and divided by two regulars and one alternate. All three city members must be on city councils of 17 of the 18 incorporated communities. The City of San Diego is excluded from this category and provided separate appointments to the Commission.

County of San Diego

David A. Drake, Alt.

Rincon del Diablo

San Diego LAFCO

December 4, 2023 Meeting Agenda Item No. 5g | Commissioner Terms

- Two "San Diego" members are appointed by the City of San Diego Council through special legislation in LAFCO statute and divided by a regular and alternate. Both members must be on the Council and can be selected from any of the council districts.
- Three "district" members are elected by the Independent Special District Committee (board presidents) and divided by two regulars and one alternate. All three district members must be board members on independent special districts.
- Two "public" members are appointed by the other four membership categories on the Commission and divided by a regular and alternate. The public members must be residents in San Diego County and cannot be officers or employees of local agencies.

All Commission seats are four-year terms that commence on the first Monday of May of the applicable year.¹ Terms go with the seat and not the member. Should a Commissioner leave LAFCO early for any reason, the successor appointee assumes the unexpired term.

DISCUSSION

This item is being presented to San Diego LAFCO to receive an annual report on current Commissioner terms consistent with practice. One term is set to expire at the end of April 2024 and involves the special district voting seat held by Commissioner MacKenzie. LAFCO staff is responsible under statute for overseeing the election process all special district seats on the Commission. Staff anticipates issuing a call for nominations in early January and holding a mailed election in April.

A complete listing of all current Commission terms is provided as Attachment One.

ANALYSIS

None.

RECOMMENDATION

This item is presented to San Diego LAFCO for information only.

ALTERNATIVES FOR ACTION

None.

¹ Reference to Government Code Section 56334.

San Diego LAFCO

December 4, 2023 Meeting Agenda Item No. 5g | Commissioner Terms

PROCEDURES

This item has been placed on the San Diego LAFCO's agenda as part of the consent calendar. A successful motion to approve the consent calendar will include taking affirmative action on the staff recommendation unless otherwise specified by the Commission.

On behalf of staff,

Erica Sellen

Acting Commission Clerk

Erica a. Dellen

Attachment:

1) Commissioner Terms

San Diego LAFCO
December 4, 2023 Meeting
Agenda Item No. 5g | Commissioner Terms

Blank for Photocopying



San Diego County Local Agency Formation CommissionPolitical Subdivision of the State of California

Regional Municipal Service Planning

COMMISSION ROSTER

COUNTY MEMBERS

Regular	Term	Alternate	Term
Jim Desmond Supervisor District No. 5	May 2027	Nora Vargas Supervisor District No. 1	May 2025
Joel Anderson Supervisor District No. 2	May 2025		

CITY MEMBERS

Regular	Term	Alternate	Term
Kristi Becker Solana Beach	May 2027	John McCann Chula Vista	May 2025
Dane White Escondido	May 2027		

CITY OF SAN DIEGO MEMBERS

Regular	Term	Alternate	Term
Stephen Whitburn Council District No. 3	May 2025	Marni von Wilpert Council District No. 5	May 2025

SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBERS

Regular	Term	Alternate	Term
Jo MacKenzie Vista Irrigation	May 2024	David Drake Rincon del Diablo MWD	May 2027
Barry Willis Alpine FPD	May 2027		

PUBLIC MEMBERS

Regular	Term	Alternate	Term
Andrew Vanderlaan Fallbrook Resident	May 2025	Harry Mathis San Diego Resident	May 2027