

San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission

www.sdlafco.org

AGENDA REPORT

December 4, 2017 Item No. 13 (Business/Action)

Sam Abed, Mayor City of Escondido

Chairman

Vice Chairwoman

Jo MacKenzie, Director Vista Irrigation District

Members

Catherine Blakespear, Mayor City of Encinitas

Bill Horn, Supervisor County of San Diego

Dianne Jacob, Supervisor County of San Diego

Ed Sprague, Director Olivenhain Municipal Water

Andrew Vanderlaan Public Member

Lorie Zapf, Councilmember City of San Diego

Alternate Members

Chris Cate, Councilmember City of San Diego

Greg Cox, Supervisor County of San Diego

Judy Hanson, Director Leucadia Wastewater District

Harry Mathis Public Member

Racquel Vasquez, Mayor City of Lemon Grove

Executive Officer

Keene Simonds

Counsel

Michael G. Colantuono

November 22, 2017

TO: Commissioners

FROM: Executive Officer Commission Clerk

SUBJECT: Chair and Vice Chair Appointments for 2018

SUMMARY

The San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) will consider making officer appointments and select a Chair and Vice Chair for 2018.

BACKGROUND

Adopted Policy

San Diego LAFCO's policies direct the Commission to annually select a Chair and Vice Chair ahead of the first meeting of the new calendar year. Terms are one year unless otherwise specified by a vote of the Commission.

Recent Chair and Vice Chair appointments follow.

Year	Chair	Vice Chair
2013	Andy Vanderlaan (Public)	John Ingalls (District)
2014	Andy Vanderlaan (Public)	Bill Horn (County)
2015	Bill Horn (County)	Sam Abed (City)
2016	Bill Horn (County)	Sam Abed (City)
2017	Sam Abed (City)	Jo MacKenzie (District)

DISCUSSION

This item is for the Commission to appoint a Chair and Vice Chair for 2018.

ANALYSIS

San Diego LAFCO's policies provide the membership broad discretion in selecting a Chair and Vice Chair each year; there is no formal rotation or otherwise slotting system. It has been the Commission's practice, however, to either reappoint the Chair and Vice Chair and or promote the Vice Chair with the latter necessitating a follow up appointment. Given the current Chair (Sam Abed) is rotating off of the Commission through the City Selection Committee a new Chair appointment will be needed for 2018.

ALTERNATIVES FOR ACTION

The following alternatives are available to the Commission in considering this item:

<u>Alternative One (recommended)</u> Make appointments to the Chair and Vice Chair positions as appropriate.

<u>Alternative Two</u> Continue the item to a future meeting and provide direction to staff with respect to any additional analysis or information requested.

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended the Commission proceed with Alternative One as outlined in the preceding section.

PROCEDURES

This item has been agenized for action as part of the Commission's business calendar. The following procedures, accordingly, are recommended in the consideration of this item:

- 1) Receive verbal report from staff;
- 2) Invite comments from interested audience members (voluntarily); and
- 3) Discuss item and consider action on recommendation.

Respectfully,

eene fimonde

Keene Simonds Executive Officer

Attachment: 1) Expanded List of Past Chairs and Vice Chairs along with Current LAFCO Terms

SUMMARY OF LAFCO CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR 2007-2017

Year	<u>Category</u>	<u>Chair</u>	Category	Vice Chair
2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017	Public Public County District City County Public Public County County City	Vanderlaan Vanderlaan Horn Pocklington Hilliard Jacob Vanderlaan Vanderlaan Horn Horn Abed	<u>County</u> <u>County</u> <u>District</u> <u>City</u> <u>County</u> <u>Public</u> <u>District</u> <u>Dist./County</u> <u>City</u> <u>City</u> <u>City</u> <u>District</u>	Horn Horn Pocklington Hilliard Jacob Vanderlaan Ingalls Ingalls/Horn Abed Abed MacKenzie

San Diego LAFCO Roster As of January 1, 2018

<u>County Members</u>	<u>Representation Category</u>	Term Expires
Supervisor Bill Horn	(Regular Member)	2018*
Supervisor Dianne Jacob	(Regular Member)	2018*
Supervisor Greg Cox	<i>(Alternate Member)</i>	2018*
City Members		
Councilmember Lorie Zapf	(City of San Diego Regular Member)**	2018*
Councilmember Chris Cate	<i>(San Diego Alternate Member)</i> **	2 <i>018</i> *
Mayor Bill Wells	(Regular Member)	2021
Mayor Catherine Blakespear	(Regular Member)	2019
<i>Mayor Pro Tem Lorie Bragg</i>	<i>(Alternate Member)</i>	2019
District Members		
Jo Mackenzie	(Regular Member)	2020
Ed Sprague	(Regular Member)	2019
Judy Hanson	<i>(Alternate Member)</i>	2019
Public Member		
Andrew Vanderlaan	(Regular Member)	2021
Harry Mathis (Alternate)	<i>(Alternate Member)</i>	2019

* Term reviewed annually by appointing authority.

** The City of San Diego has permanent representation on the San Diego LAFCO per Government Code Section 56328 and is not subject to the appointment process conducted by the City Selection Committee.