

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

SUBJECT:	Call for Nominations Alternate Special District Member Election on LAFCO	
FROM:	Tamaron Luckett, Commission Clerk	
TO:	Independent Special Districts in San Diego County	
February 22, 2021		

This notice serves as a call for nominations pursuant to Government Code Section 56332(1) involving a vacant and unexpired term as alternate special district member on the San Diego County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO). The term involves Erin Lump's (Rincon del Diablo Municipal Water District) vacated seat and expires on May 1, 2023. Additional details follow.

Eligibility

Candidates eligible for election must be members of the legislative body of an independent special district who reside within San Diego County but may not be members of the legislative body of a city or county.

Authorized Nominations

State Law specifies only the presiding officer or their alternate as designated by the governing board must sign the nomination form. Attached is nomination form for the LAFCO alternate special district member (Attachment A).

Submittal Process and Deadline

Signed nominations and a limited **two-page** resume indicating the candidate's District and LAFCO experience must be returned to San Diego LAFCO no later than Friday, April 23, 2021. Nominations received after this date will be invalid. Nominations and resumes may be mailed to the San Diego LAFCO Office at 9335 Hazard Way, Suite 200, San Diego, CA 92123 or by email to tamaron.luckett@sdcounty.ca.gov, if necessary, to meet the submission deadline, but the original form must be submitted.

Administration	Vice Chair Jim Desmond	Mary Casillas Salas
Keene Simonds, Executive Officer	County of San Diego	City of Chula Vista
County Operations Center 9335 Hazard Way, Suite 200 San Diego, California 92123	Nora Vargas County of San Diego	Bill Wells City of El Cajon
T 858.614.7755 F 858.614.7766	Joel Anderson, Alt.	Paul McNamara, Alt.
www.sdlafco.org	County of San Diego	City of Escondido

Chris Cate City of San Diego Marni von Wilpert, Alt. City of San Diego

Jo MacKenzie Vista Irrigation Barry Willis

Vacant, Alt.

Special District

Chair Andy Vanderlaan General Public

Harry Mathis, Alt. Alpine Fire Protection General Public

After nominations and resumes are received it is anticipated a candidate's forum will be held in conjunction with the California Special Districts Association quarterly meeting with confirmation being provided under separate/future cover. Election materials will be mailed out **no later** than <u>Friday, April 30, 2021</u> unless otherwise communicated by the LAFCO Executive Officer. Should you have any questions, please contact me at 858.614.7755.

Attachment: 1) Nomination form – LAFCO alternate special district member

Respectfully,

Tamaron Luckett Commission Clerk

ATTACHMENT A

NOMINATION OF THE SPECIAL DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE SAN DIEGO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION ALTERNATE MEMBER

The ______is pleased to nominate ______as a _____as a _____(Name of Independent Special District) (Name of Candidate)

Candidate for the San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission as an alternate special district member with a term expiring in 2023.

As presiding officer or his/her delegated alternate as provided by the governing board, I hereby certify that:

• The nominee is a member of a legislative body of an independent special district whom resides in San Diego County.

(Presiding Officer Signature)

(Print name)

(Print Title)

(Date)

PLEASE ATTACH RESUME FOR NOMINEE

- Limit two-pages
- Must be submitted with Nomination Form