



February 1, 2021

TO: Commissioners

FROM: Ruth Arellano, Executive Assistant

# SUBJECT: Roster Update for the Special Districts Advisory Committee

### SUMMARY

The San Diego County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) will receive an update on the composition of the Special Districts Advisory Committee and the results of a recent nomination-election process affecting eight of the sixteen Committee seats. The update is being presented to the Commission for information only.

## BACKGROUND

## **Special Districts Advisory Committee**

The Special Districts Advisory Committee was created in August 1971 by San Diego LAFCO and consists of 16 members collectively drawn from the 58 independent special districts in San Diego County. Members serve four-year terms and are appointed by the independent special districts through an election process administered by LAFCO staff. Committee rules also allow its Chair to appoint members to fill unexpired terms as needed. The Committee meets quarterly and is tasked with providing feedback – including recommendations – on germane topics to assist LAFCO in fulfilling its regulatory and planning functions.

Administration	Vice Chair Jim Desmond	Mary Casillas Salas	Chris Cate	Jo MacKenzie	Chair Andy Vanderlaan	
Keene Simonds, Executive Officer	County of San Diego	City of Chula Vista	City of San Diego	Vista Irrigation	General Public	
County Operations Center 9335 Hazard Way, Suite 200 San Diego, California 92123	Nora Vargas County of San Diego	Bill Wells City of El Cajon	Marni von Wilpert, Alt City of San Diego	Barry Willis Alpine Fire Protection	Harry Mathis, Alternate General Public	
T 858.614.7755 F 858.614.7766	Joel Anderson, Alternate	Paul McNamara, Alternate		Erin Lump, Alternate		
www.sdlafco.org	County of San Diego	City of Escondido		Rincon del Diablo MWI		

### DISCUSSION

This item provides San Diego LAFCO with an update on the current composition of the Special Districts Advisory Committee and follows the recent conclusion of a nomination-election process affecting eight of the sixteen Committee seats. The call for nominations was performed by the Commission Clerk and involved written notice being sent on October 5, 2020 to all 58 independent special districts. A total of nine nominations were received by the November 9<sup>th</sup> filing deadline. One of the nominees, however, became ineligible after separately losing re-election to their special district board and negating the need to proceed with an election. All eight members with new four-year terms on the Committee along with the other eight members with incumbent terms are identified below.

Special Districts Advisory Committee Current Membership Roster						
Title	Member	Special District	Term			
General Manager	Jack Bebee	Fallbrook Public Utility District	10/23			
General Manager	Paul Bushee	Leucadia Wastewater District	10/24			
Fire Chief	Fred Cox	Rancho Santa Fe Fire Protection District	10/24			
Board Director	John Van Doorn	North County Fire Protection District	10/24			
Board Director	James Gordon	Deer Springs Fire Protection District	10/23			
General Manager	Tom Kennedy	Rainbow Municipal Water District	10/23			
General Manager	Sheryl Landrum	Resource Conservation District Greater SD County	10/24			
General Manager	Albert Lau	Santa Fe Irrigation District	10/23			
Board Member	Hector Martinez	South Bay Irrigation District	10/24			
Board Director	Marty Miller	Vista Irrigation District	10/24			
Board Director	Mark Robak	Otay Water District	10/23			
Board Director	Joel Scalzitti	Helix Water District	10/24			
Fire Chief	Mike Simms	Bonita-Sunnyside Fire Protection District	10/23			
Board Director	Oliver Smith	Valley Center Municipal Water District	10/24			
Board Director	Robert Thomas	Pomerado Cemetery District	10/23			
General Manager	Kimberly Thorner	Olivenhain Municipal Water District	10/23			

Biographies for all 18 members of the Committee are available online at the LAFCO website.

### ANALYSIS

The Special Districts Advisory Committee provides regular and substantive value to San Diego LAFCO with respect to providing timely feedback on jurisdictional proposals and studies ahead of consideration by the Commission. The Committee also now regularly assists the Executive Officer in developing an annual workplan and addressing jurisdictional disputes between two or more special districts; the latter having become a more common issue of late and due in part to LAFCO advancing its municipal service review program and identifying boundary/service irregularities. The next quarterly meeting is scheduled for March 19, 2021.

#### RECOMMENDATION

This item is presented to San Diego LAFCO for information only. It is recommended the Commission review the report with the invitation to discuss and ask questions of staff.

### ALTERNATIVES FOR ACTION

This item is being presented for information only; no action.

#### PROCEDURES

This item has been placed on the San Diego LAFCO's agenda as part of the consent calendar. A successful motion to approve the consent calendar will include taking affirmative action on the staff recommendation unless otherwise specified by the Commission.

On behalf of staff,

Ruth auller

Ruth Arellano Executive Assistant Clerk to the Advisory Committee

Attachment: none

Blank for Photocopying