

9335 Hazard Way • Suite 200 • San Diego, CA 92123 (858) 614-7755 • FAX (858) 614-7766

Website: www.sdlafco.org

Chairman

Sam Abed Mayor City of Escondido

Vice Chairman

Jo MacKenzie Vista Irrigation District

Members

Bill Horn County Board of Supervisors

Dianne Jacob County Board of Supervisors

Andrew Vanderlaan Public Member

Lorie Zapf Councilmember City of San Diego

Catherine Blakespear Mayor City of Encinitas

Ed Sprague Olivenhain Municipal Water District

Alternate Members

Greg Cox County Board of Supervisors

Chris Cate Councilmember City of San Diego

Racquel Vasquez Mayor City of Lemon Grove

Harry Mathis Public Member

Judy Hanson Leucadia Wastewater District

Executive Officer

Michael D. Ott

Legal Counsel

Michael G. Colantuono

July 10, 2017

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM: Executive Assistant

SUBJECT: August 7th Staff and Committee Recognition Event

This is to advise the Commission that a recognition event has been scheduled in conjunction with the August 7th LAFCO meeting. The August 7th meeting will likely be the last opportunity for outgoing members of the LAFCO staff, representatives of the East County Fire Protection Committee, and members of the San Diego LAFCO to be together at the same time. Light refreshments and recognition presentations are accordingly planned for August 7th. Below is a brief profile of the individuals and local agencies that will be recognized.

Michael Ott. Mike Ott was appointed as the San Diego LAFCO's sixth Executive Officer in 1992. Under his leadership, the San Diego LAFCO received an unprecedented 18 statewide awards. He was the recipient of CALAFCO's Outstanding LAFCO Professional of the Year Award in 2008. He also received on behalf of the Commission, the Most Effective Commission in California Award in 1998, 2002, and 2004. As the Commissioner's principal staff advisor, he oversaw eight municipal incorporation proposals, one special reorganization (secession), and one municipal disincorporation. He led and facilitated the consolidation of over 90 special districts and headed LAFCO during the historic wildfires of 2003 and 2007. He helped create and activate the Ad hoc Cities Advisory Committee; LAFCO Task Force on Fire Protection; and the East County Fire Protection Committee. From 1987-92, he served as the first Deputy Executive Officer of CALAFCO and wrote the landmark report resulting in the reorganization of CALAFCO. He is the author of The Guide to LAFCO Procedures, which is followed by 58 counties and many municipalities in California. From 1999 to 2003, he served on the Governor's Office of Planning and Research's Incorporation Task Force and the Governor's



Municipal Service Review Working Group. He will retire from LAFCO service on August 31, 2017. His forwarding email address starting on September 1, 2017 will be: <u>mikesbikes@roadrunner.com</u>.

Ingrid Hansen. Chief Analyst Ingrid Hansen was originally hired by the San Diego LAFCO in 1981 and retired in 2007. She returned to LAFCO service in 2007 as a parttime worker and has been instrumental for the past ten years in the training of a number of administrative personnel. She helped standardize the Commission's proposal processing program; assisted with the creation of the Commission's records management project; and helped launched a Geographic Information System twenty years ago. She is the 2001 recipient of CALAFCO's *Outstanding LAFCO Professional of the Year Award*. Ingrid will retire on August 31st.

Harry Ehrlich. LAFCO Consultant Harry Ehrlich has served as the Commission's Local Governmental Consultant for 10 years. During that time, he also served as the Director of the Commission's legislative program and Special Districts Advisory Committee. He is the 2010 and 2013 recipient of the *Outstanding CALAFCO Member Award*. Prior to LAFCO service, Harry was the Assistant General Manager of the Olivenhain Municipal Water District and Ramona Municipal Water District. He also has worked for several municipalities in public safety. Harry's last day with the San Diego LAFCO will be August 31st, and he will continue his consulting practice and involvement with the Borrego Water District as an elected member of the Board of Directors.

John Traylor. John Traylor served as the Commission's Local Governmental Consultant from 2006-2009 and then from 2011 to 2017. He served as Executive Director of the Commission's Task Force on Fire Protection and assisted with the reorganization of fire protection services in San Diego County that resulted in expanded coverage for approximately 1.5 million acres of previously unserved territory. John previously served as Fire Chief of Coronado and Fire Marshall of El Cajon. Upon retirement from the San Diego LAFCO on August 31st, John will continue to be active within the San Diego County fire community.

Joe Serrano. Chief Analyst Joe Serrano was hired in 2015 and most recently staffed the East County Fire Protection Committee. Within a short period of time, Joe helped reconcile a 30-year old fire protection problems in North and East County. He has been an active member of CALAFCO and is a frequent guest speaker at CALAFCO Conferences. August 7th will be Joe's last day with the San Diego LAFCO and he will be moving to Monterey County for a senior analyst position with the Monterey LAFCO.

William Smith. Special Project Consultant William "Bill" Smith has worked with the Executive Officer and CALAFCO on legislative projects for the past five years following his retirement as the San Diego LAFCO's Legal Counsel and Chief Deputy County Counsel of the County of San Diego. He helped rewrite and simplify the protest provisions in the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000. His efforts resulted in an Omnibus bill that was approved by the State Legislature. Bill's last day as a special project consultant with the San Diego LAFCO was June 30th.

East County Fire Protection and Stakeholders Committees. The East County Fire Protection Committee was formed in 2016 to assist with reconciling jurisdictional issues associated with the reorganization of County Service Area No. 115 (Pepper Drive). A stakeholders committee of affected agencies was also formed. Staff support was provided by Mike Ott, Joe Serrano, John Traylor, Rich Miller, Erica Blom, and Mike Colantuono. Members of the Commission that participated on the committee were Commissioners Jacob (Chair), MacKenzie (Vice Chair), Vanderlaan, and Sprague. The Committees held joint meetings in addition to hosting a field tour and a number of individual discussions with LAFCO staff. Current and past participants and appointees include: San Miguel Consolidated FPD (Criss Brainard, Darrin Howell, Theresa McKenna, Jim Ek, Dave Rickards, Darilyn O'Dell, Leah Harris, and Joe Sanchez); Lakeside FPD (Don Butz, Scott Walker, Bob Robeson, Jim Bingham, Robert Schiwitz, and Bernard Molloy); San Diego County Fire (Herman Reddick, Susan Quasarano); Cal FIRE (Tony Mecham); City of El Cajon (Colin Stowell); City of Santee (Richard Smith); County Auditor-Controller's Office (Rebecca Greene); and County Assessor's Office (Jeff Delarosa).

Respectfully Submitted,

TAMARON R. LUCKETT Executive Assistant

Attachment

August 7th Retirement and Recognition Event Flyer

Local Agency Formation

San Diego

Commission

Committee Recognition

Join us in Recognizing the work and accomplishments of:

Michael D. Ott, Executive Officer Ingrid Hansen, Chief Analyst Harry Ehrlich, LAFCO Consultant John Traylor, LAFCO Consultant Joe Serrano, Chief Analyst William Smith, Special Project Consultant East County Fire Protection and Stakeholders Committees

Monday, August 7, 2017 ◆ 9:30 a.m. County Administration Center ; 1600 Pacific Highway, Room 302 ; San Diego, CA 92101