APPROVED LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION SPECIAL DISTRICTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE JUNE 21, 2019 MEETING

ROLL CALL

Chair Kimberly Thorner called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. and then requested a roll call from the Committee Clerk.

Committee Members Present:

Chair Kimberly Thorner (Olivenhain MWD); Vice Chairwoman Julie Nygaard (Tri-City HCD); Gary Arant (Valley Center MWD); Jack Bebee (Fallbrook PUD); Fred Cox (Rancho Santa Fe FPD); Larry Converse (Ramona MWD); Bill Haynor (Whispering Palms CSD); Tom Kennedy (Rainbow MWD); Hector Martinez (South Bay ID); Tom Pocklington (Bonita-Sunnyside FPD) (arrived 9:38 a.m.); Mark Robak (Otay WD); Augie Scalzitti (Padre Dam MWD) (arrived 9:41 a.m.); Joel Scalzitti (Helix WD) (arrived 9:41 a.m.); Greg Thomas (Rincon del Diablo WD); and Robert Thomas (Pomerado CD).

<u>Committee Members Absent</u>: Sheryl Landrum (RCD of Greater San Diego County).

The following members of LAFCO staff were present at roll call: Executive Officer Keene Simonds; Consultant John Traylor; Analyst Linda Zambito; Analyst Alex Vidal; GIS Analyst Dieu Ngu; Executive Assistant Ruth Arellano; Executive Assistant Tamaron Luckett; and Administrative Assistant Erica Blom. The following public members were also present and registered at roll call: Chris Palmer (CSDA) and Brian Haggerty (County of San Diego).

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Committee member Bob Thomas led the Pledge of Allegiance.

AGENDA REVIEW

Chair Thorner asked if there were any revisions to the agenda. Executive Officer Keene Simonds indicated there were none and advised the Committee it can proceed as planned.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Chair Thorner invited public comments. None received.

COMMITTEE MEMBER REPORTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

Reports from individual committee members and their home agency activities were provided for general discussion.

CONSENT ITEMS

Item 1

Approval of Minutes of March 15, 2019 (action)

The Committee considered draft summary minutes prepared for the last meeting held on March 15, 2019. Recommend approval.

ltem 2

Ratification of Chair Appointments (action)

The Committee considered formal ratification of the Chair Kim Thorner's appointments to the Committee to fill three unexpired terms involving the seating of Greg Thomas with Rincon Del Diablo MWD, Fred Cox with Rancho Santa Fe FPD, and Hector Martinez with South Bay ID. Recommend ratification.

Item 3

Update on Current and Pending Proposals (information)

A report was provided to the Committee members present regarding current and pending proposals on file and anticipated with LAFCO. Information only.

Item 4

Informational Report on Implementing Senate Bill 1266

Joint Power Authority Filings with San Diego LAFCO (information)

A report on joint power authority filings with LAFCO was presented to the committee members present related to SB1266. Information only.

On motion of Gary Arant, seconded by Tom Kennedy, and carried unanimously by the remaining Committee members present to approve the consent calendar.

BUSINESS ITEMS

Item No. 5

Adopted LAFCO Workplan for FY 2019-2020 (discussion)

Executive Officer Keene Simonds presented the item and discussed high priority projects scheduled for the upcoming fiscal year. Committee discussion followed.

Item No. 6

Draft Municipal Service Review | San Diego County Sanitation District (discussion)

Analyst Linda Zambito provided a presentation regarding the draft municipal service review prepared on the San Diego County Sanitation District. This included summarizing the draft's key conclusions and recommendations. Committee discussion followed.

BUSINESS ITEMS CONTINUED...

Item No. 7

Election Update and Direction to Nominating Committee |

District Representative on Consolidated Redevelopment Oversight Board (discussion)

Executive Officer Keene Simonds introduced guest Brian Haggerty with the County of San Diego and lead staff for the Consolidated Redevelopment Oversight Board. Mr. Haggerty provided an overview of the Board's activities and meeting schedule. The Executive Officer proceeded to update the Committee on the election process to seat a new special district representative to the Oversight Board. Chair Thorner proceeded to create a nominating committee consisting of Augie Scalzitti, Joel Scalzitti and Hector Martinez.

Item No. 8

Preview of New LAFCO Website

GIS Analyst Dieu Ngu provided a preview of the new LAFCO website. Discussion only.

EXECUTIVE OFFICER REPORT

None

ADJOURNMENT TO NEXT REGULAR MEETING

There being no further business to come before the Special Districts Advisory Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:00 a.m. to the scheduled meeting on September 20, 2019.

RUTH ARELLANO EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT SAN DIEGO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION