APPROVED LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION SPECIAL DISTRICTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE FEBRUARY 17, 2017 MEETING

There being a quorum present, the meeting was convened at 9:30 a.m., by Chairwoman Kimberly Thorner (Olivenhain MWD). Present <u>Committee Members</u> were Jack Bebee (Fallbrook PUD), Bill Haynor (Whispering Palms CSD), Tom Kennedy (Rainbow MWD), Erin Lump (Rincon del Diablo MWD), John Pastore (Rancho Santa Fe CSD), Augie Scalzitti (Padre Dam MWD), Joel Scalzitti (Helix WD), Dennis Shepard (North County CD), Tom Pocklington (Bonita-Sunnyside FPD), and Robert Thomas (Pomerado CD). <u>LAFCO staff</u> present were LAFCO Consultant Harry Ehrlich, Chief Analyst Robert Barry, Local Governmental Analyst Joe Serrano, and Executive Assistant Ruth Arellano.

Item 1

Pledge of Allegiance / Roll Call

Tom Pocklington led the Pledge of Allegiance at the meeting. The Advisory Committee Secretary performed the roll call with the following absences noted: Gary Arant (Valley Center MWD), Gary Croucher (Otay WD), Julie Nygaard (Tri-City HCD), and Terry Thomas (South Bay ID).

Item 2

Approval of Minutes of September 16, 2016

On motion of Tom Kennedy, seconded by Joel Scalzitti, and carried unanimously by the Committee Members present; the Advisory Committee dispensed with reading the minutes of September 16, 2016 and approved the draft prepared by staff without changes.

Item 3

Consultant's Recommended Agenda Revisions

LAFCO Consultant Harry Ehrlich indicated that there were no revisions to the agenda.

Item 4

Public Comment

Chairwoman Thorner indicated there were no speaker slips received from members of the public for comments.

Item 5

Selection of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson for 2017

Harry Ehrlich opened the nominations for the Advisory Committee Chair and Vice Chair positions for 2017. Tom Pocklington motioned to close the nominations, the following actions were made:

On motion of Jack Bebee to nominate Kimberly Thorner as the 2017 Chairwoman, seconded by Tom Pocklington, and carried unanimously by the Committee Members present.

On motion of Dennis Shepard to nominate Julie Nygaard as the 2017 Vice Chairwoman, seconded by Bill Haynor, and carried unanimously by the Committee Members present.

Item 6

Implementation of SB 1266 Procedure

Harry Ehrlich provided information to the committee regarding implementation of SB 1266 procedures related to Joint Powers Authorities filings with LAFCO after July 1, 2017.

Item 7

Discussion of Considering Filling of Position Vacancy(s)

Chairwoman Thorner informed the Committee about two recent vacancies by members Margarette Morgan and Gary Croucher. She indicated the two vacancies could be filled by a re-election process or Committee appointment. Ms. Thorner also indicated the Otay Water District shared interest in their continued representation on the Committee. Harry Ehrlich indicated a Health Care District, Parks and Recreation, Community Services District or possibly a water or fire district may be interested in having representation on the Committee as well. After discussion, the Committee agreed to create a three-member committee consisting of: Chairwoman Kimberly Thorner, Joel Scalzitti and Bill Haynor to appoint new members to fill the current vacancies and any upcoming vacancy that may occur during the remainder of the year.

Item 8

Legislative Report Update

Harry Ehrlich provided recent legislative updates to the Advisory Committee.

Item 9

Committee Member Announcements and Agency Activity Updates

The Advisory Committee members provided updates and information on their district's activities.

Item 10

<u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further business to come before the Special Districts Advisory Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 10:47 a.m.

RUTH ARELLANO EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT SAN DIEGO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION