## MISSION RESOURCE CONSERVATION DISTRICT

## DISTRICT BACKGROUND

The Mission Resource Conservation District (RCD) provides resource conservation programs within the San Luis Rey and Santa Margarita watershed areas in northwestern San Diego County.

DISTRICT CHARACTERISTICS

Principal Act: Public Resources Code § 9150 et seq.

Services: Water and soil conservation programs

Population:115,500 (2012 SANDAG)District Area:185.2 square miles

**Sphere of Influence:** Coterminous with District

Sphere Adopted: June 2, 1986 Sphere Affirmed: March 4, 2013

**Revenue Sources:** Property tax, grants, donations

Governance: Appointed 5-member Board of Directors

Board Meeting: 2nd Tuesday: 4:00 p.m.

Fallbrook Public Utility District

Board Room

990 E. Mission Road Fallbrook, CA 92088

Contact: missionred.org

1588 South Mission Road, Suite 100

Fallbrook, CA 92028

760/728-1332

View Map: <u>sdlafco.org/Webpages/agency\_maps\_links.htm</u>

The Mission RCD was established in 1944 to assist local property owners in implementing soil, water, and other natural resource conservation practices. The District works in conjunction

with the U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and coordinates programs, activities, and services with other resource conservation districts and related local, state, and federal agencies.

The District is governed by a fivemember Board of Directors. Directors are appointed to four-year terms by the County Board of Supervisors from a list of eligible candidates proposed by the RCD according to Board Policy A-134, Procedures for Appointment to Resource Conservation District Boards of Directors

1073.

LAFCO approved a sphere-of-influence for the Mission RCD in 1986 that is coterminous with the district boundary. The sphere was last affirmed in 2013.

The RCD includes approximately 185 square miles including the unincorporated communities of Fallbrook, Bonsall, and Rainbow; and the northern portion of the City of Oceanside.

Updated 9/16/13