RESOURCE CONSERVATION DISTRICT OF GREATER SAN DIEGO COUNTY

DISTRICT BACKGROUND

The Resource Conservation District of Greater San Diego County (RCDGSD) provides technical help and educational programs to assist local property owners in implementing soil, water, and other natural resource conservation practices.

DISTRICT CHARACTERISTICS

Principal Act:	Public Resource Code § 9151 et seq.
Services:	Water and soil conservation Fish and wildlife habitat programs
Service Area:	2,889 square miles
Population:	1,351,820 (2012 SANDAG)
Sphere of Influence	Larger than District
Sphere Adopted:	February 6, 1995
Sphere Affirmed:	March 4, 2013
Revenue Sources:	Property tax, grants, fees
Governance:	Appointed 7-member Board of Directors
Board Meeting:	1st Tuesday: 3:00 p.m. Nasland Engineering 4740 Ruffner Street San Diego, CA 92111
Contact:	rcdsandiego.org 11769 Waterhill Road Lakeside, CA 92040 619/562-0096
View Map:	sdlafco.org/Webpages/agency_maps_links.htm

The RCDGSD emerged from a succession of RCD consolidations. The most recent—the 1995 consolidation of the Greater Mt. Empire RCD and the RCD of Central San Diego County—established the RCSGSD, which includes over 2,889 square miles. The District boundary includes all or portions of the Cities of Carlsbad, Del Mar, El Cajon, Encinitas, Escondido, National City, Poway, San Marcos, Solana Beach, San Diego, Santee, and Vista; and unincorporated territory extending to Imperial County.

The District works in conjunction with the U.S. Department of Agriculture (U.S.D.A) Natural Resources Conservation Service and coordi-

nates programs, and services with other resource conservation districts and related local, state, and federal agencies.

The RCDGSD is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors. Directors are appointed to four-year terms by the County Board of Supervisors from a list of eligible candidates proposed by the RCD according to Board Policy A-134, *Procedures for Appointment to Resource Conservation District Boards of Directors.*

The RCDGSD administers the programs of the *San Diego Fire Safe Council* of *San Diego County*, a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit corporation that is governed by a 15-member Board of Directors. The Fire Safe Council is funded through National Fire Plan State Fire Assistance grants with federal funding pro-

vided by the U.S.D.A. Forest Service, the U.S. Bureau of Land Management, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

LAFCO approved a sphere-of-influence for the Resource Conservation District of Greater San Diego County in 1995 that is larger than the district boundary. The sphere was last affirmed in 2013.

Updated 9/16/13