SAN DIEGO LAFCO MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING DECEMBER 6, 2010

There being a quorum present, the meeting was convened at 9:00 a.m. by Chairman Bud Pocklington. Also present were: Regular Commissioners — Councilmember Carl Hilliard, Supervisor Bill Horn, Mayor Mark Lewis, Special District Member John Ingalls and Public Member Andy Vanderlaan. Alternate Commissioners — Supervisor Greg Cox, Special District Member Jo MacKenzie and Public Member Harry Mathis. LAFCO Staff — Executive Officer Michael Ott, Assistant Executive Officer Shirley Anderson, Local Governmental Analyst, Robert Barry, Local Governmental Analyst Claire Riley, Legislative Director Harry Ehrlich and LAFCO Legal Counsel Karen Landers. Absent were: Regular Commissioners — Supervisor Dianne Jacob and Councilmember Donna Frye. Alternate Commissioners — Mayor Jim Janney and Councilmember Sherri Lightner.

Item 1 Roll Call

The Commission Secretary performed the roll call for the December 6, 2010 LAFCO meeting. All regular commissioners were present with the exception of Commissioner Jacob and Frye. The Commission Secretary indicated that Alternate Commissioner Cox will vote in place of Commissioner Jacob who is absent.

Item 2 Approval of Minutes of Meeting Held November 1, 2010

On motion of Commissioner Bill Horn, seconded by Commissioner Andy Vanderlaan, and carried unanimously by the commissioners present; the Commission dispensed with reading the minutes of November 1, 2010 and approved said minutes.

Item 3 Executive Officer's Recommended Agenda Revisions

Michael Ott indicated that Item 7 would be removed from the agenda due to surveying issues. He also said that the order for Items 8 and 9 will be reversed.

Item 4

Commissioner / Executive Officer Announcements

Chairman Bud Pocklington read an editorial regarding historical issues about fire, consolidation and jurisdictional boundary changes that involve LAFCO.

Commissioner Andy Vanderlaan commented about the CALAFCO board meeting he attended.

Item 5 Public Comments

There were no public comments.

Item 6 Proposed "Lau Hala Road Reorganization" (City of Vista) (RO09-09)

At the request of Michael Ott, the Commission waived the staff presentation.

On motion of Commissioner Horn, seconded by Commissioner Lewis, and carried unanimously by the commissioners present, the Commission took the following actions:

- (1) Find in accordance with the Executive Officer's determination, that pursuant to Section 15319(a) of the State CEAQ Guidelines, this reorganization is not subject to the environmental impact evaluation process because the proposal area contains existing public or private structures and is developed to the density allowed by current zoning or prezoning of either the gaining or losing governmental agency whichever is more restrictive, provided however that the extension of utility services to the existing facilities would have a capacity to serve only the existing facilities; and
- (2) Adopt the form of resolution approving this reorganization for the reasons set forth in the Executive Officer's Report, waiving the Conducting Authority proceedings according to Government Code Section 56663(c), and ordered the reorganization, subject to the following terms and conditions:
 - (a) Payment of State Board of Equalization fees.

Item 7

Update of City and Special District Sphere of Influence and Municipal Service Review Annual Summary

Michael Ott introduced Local Governmental Analyst Claire Riley, who gave the staff presentation for this item.

On motion of Commissioner Cox, seconded by Commissioner Horn, and carried unanimously by the commissioners present, the Commission took the following action:

Accepted and approved the 2010 City and Special Districts Sphere of Influence and Municipal Service Review Summaries.

Item 8

Selection of 2010 LAFCO Chair and Vice Chairman

Michael Ott provided comments to the Commission about the current status of LAFCO's Chair and Vice Chairman.

Supervisor Horn placed a motion on the floor to rotate the 2010 Chair and Vice Chair for 2011 and that Carl Hilliard and Supervisor Dianne Jacob to serve as Chairman and Vice Chair, respectively.

On motion of Commissioner Horn, seconded by Commissioner Vanderlaan, and carried unanimously by the commissioners present, the Commission took the following action:

Appointed Carl Hilliard as LAFCO's 2011 Chairman and Supervisor Dianne Jacob as the 2011 Vice Chair.

Item 9

Cancellation of the January 3, 2011 Meeting / Holiday Office Closure and 2011 Meeting Calendar

Michael Ott provided a brief report to the Commission.

On motion of Commissioner Vanderlaan, seconded by Commissioner Lewis, and carried unanimously by the commissioners present, the Commission took the following actions:

(1) Authorized the Executive Officer to close the LAFCO office from December 20-24, 2010, and adjourned the December 6, 2010 meeting to February 7, 2011; and

(2) Approved the cancellation of the January 3, 2011 meeting and the 2011 LAFCO Meeting Calendar.

Item 10 2010 Legislative Summary

LAFCO Consultant Harry Ehrlich provided a brief report to the Commission regarding the bills that LAFCO and CALFACO sponsored and supported in 2010. He indicated that some of these bills were passed by the Legislative. He also said that one of these bills was opposed by the Commission and vetoed by the Governor which was bill AB853 (Arambula).

Mr. Ehrlich said that the Governor vetoed several bills dealing with the local government compensation and pension issues. He also indicated that LAFCO and CALAFCO are continuing to track five bills which are the following: AB 2795 (Assembly Omnibus Bill), SB 894 (Senate Omnibus Bill), AB2530 (Nielson), SB194 (Florez) and AB853 (Arambula).

This was an information item and no action was required by the Commission.

Chairman Pocklington asked the Executive Officer to provide a report to the Commission about any proposed projects for 2011.

In response to the question, Michael Ott indicated that there are a few proposed projects that LAFCO will be working on and various issues related to the consolidation of fire agencies, and water, wastewater, and healthcare districts.

Chairman Pocklington thanked LAFCO staff for a job well done in 2010.

There being no further business to come before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:15 a.m. to the February 7, 2011 meeting, in Room 302, County Administration Center.

Tamaron Luckett
Administrative Assistant
San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission