APPROVED

LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION SPECIAL DISTRICTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE DECEMBER 14, 2018 MEETING

There being a quorum present, the meeting was convened at 9:30 a.m., by Chairwoman Kimberly Thorner (Olivenhain MWD). Other <u>Committee members in attendance</u>: Vice Chairwoman Julie Nygaard (Tri-City HCD); Gary Arant (Valley Center MWD); Jack Bebee (Fallbrook PUD); Bill Haynor (Whispering Palms CSD); Tom Kennedy (Rainbow MWD); Erin Lump (Rincon del Diablo MWD); John Pastore (Rancho Santa Fe CSD); and Mark Robak (Otay WD). <u>Committee members absent</u>: Tony Michel (Rancho Santa Fe FPD); Augie Scalzitti (Padre Dam MWD); Joel Scalzitti (Helix WD); Dennis Shepard (North County CD); Robert Thomas (Pomerado CD); and Terry Thomas (South Bay Irrigation District). <u>LAFCO staff in attendance</u>: Executive Officer Keene Simonds; John Traylor, LAFCO Consultant; Linda Zambito, Local Governmental Analyst; Executive Assistants Ruth Arellano and Tamaron Luckett; and Administrative Assistant Erica Blom.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Committee member Tom Kennedy led the Pledge of Allegiance at the meeting.

AGENDA REVIEW

Chairwoman Thorner indicated that there were no revisions to the agenda and called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL AND INTRODUCTIONS

Roll call was performed with Committee and staff members providing brief self-introductions.

OPEN TIME

Chairwoman Thorner indicated there were no speaker slips received from members of the public for comments.

PRESENTATIONS/UPDATES

Chairwoman Thorner informed the Committee three members – Tony Michel (Rancho Santa Fe Fire Protection District), Dennis Sheppard (North County Cemetery District) and Terry Thomas (South Bay Irrigation District) – have left their special districts and are no longer on the Committee. Chairwoman Thorner noted she would proceed with making appointments to fill the unexpired terms with ratification from the Committee at the next meeting in March 2019.

Chairwoman Thorner asked the Committee members present to inform the Committee about any updates within their districts. Julie Nygaard provided an update to the Committee on the Countywide Oversight Board for Successor Redevelopment Agencies.

CONSENT ITEMS

Item 1

Approval of Minutes of June 15, 2018

On motion of Erin Lump, seconded by Bill Haynor, and carried unanimously by the remaining Committee members present; the Committee dispensed with reading the minutes of the June 15, 2018 and approved said minutes.

Item 2

Special District Elections to Appoint Members to LAFCO

Executive Officer Keene Simonds informed the Committee of upcoming elections for the Special Districts seats for two LAFCO Commissioner positions each consisting of four-year terms. Mr. Simonds requested feedback from the Committee and to assist with outreach to the Special Districts during the election nominations. Mr. Simonds indicated coordination with the San Diego Chapter of the California Special Districts Association would also be very helpful. Discussion followed with feedback as requested.

BUSINESS ITEMS

Item No. 3

<u>Proposed Comprehensive LAFCO Fee Schedule Update</u>

Executive Officer Keene Simonds provided a brief overview regarding the new LAFCO fee schedule and requested feedback and recommendations from the Committee. Mr. Simonds explained the uniformity of the proposal fees currently is based on parcel size and the new fees will be based on the level of analysis and review. He indicated the baseline proposal fees will go from \$2,600.00 to \$6,600.00 and the more complex proposals will require additional fees. Discussion followed.

Item No. 4

Update on Proposals

Executive Officer Keene Simonds informed the Committee of the existing and pending proposal chart. This included deferring to Consultant John Traylor and Analyst Linda Zambito to provide an update on the "Julian-Cuyamaca Fire Protection District Reorganization." Discussion followed.

Item No. 5

Selection of Chair and Vice Chair for 2019

The Committee agreed to re-nominate and re-appoint the current officers to remain for the 2019 year as the Chair and Vice Chair positions.

On motion by Gary Arant and seconded by Tom Kennedy, the Committee members present voted unanimously to re-appoint Kim Thorner and Julie Nygaard as the Advisory Committee's Chair and Vice Chair respectively.

STAFF UPDATES

Executive Officer Keene Simonds announced the hiring of a new Local Governmental Analyst, Alex Vidal who will be starting the LAFCO staff in January 2019. He also informed the Committee of upcoming LAFCO Commissioner term expirations in 2019.

ADJOURNMENT TO NEXT REGULAR MEETING

There being no further business to come before the Special Districts Advisory Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 10:50 a.m. to the scheduled meeting on March 15, 2019.

RUTH ARELLANO

EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT

SAN DIEGO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION