APPROVED LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION SPECIAL DISTRICTS ADVISORY COMMITTEE JUNE 15, 2018 MEETING

There being a quorum present, the meeting was convened at 9:30 a.m., by Chairwoman Kimberly Thorner (Olivenhain MWD).

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Committee Member Gary Arant led the Pledge of Allegiance at the meeting.

AGENDA REVIEW

Chairwoman Thorner indicated that there were no revisions to the agenda and called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL AND INTRODUCTIONS

The Advisory Committee Secretary performed the roll call for the June 15, 2018, Special Districts Advisory Committee meeting. <u>Committee Members in attendance</u>: Gary Arant (Valley Center MWD); Jack Bebee (Fallbrook PUD) (arrived at 9:35 am); Tom Kennedy (Rainbow MWD); Erin Lump (Rincon del Diablo MWD); Mark Robak (Otay WD); Robert Thomas (Pomerado CD); Terry Thomas (South Bay ID); Dennis Shepard (North County CD); and Tom Pocklington (Bonita-Sunnyside FPD). <u>Committee Members absent</u>: Vice Chairwoman Julie Nygaard (Tri-City HCD); Bill Haynor (Whispering Palms CSD); John Pastore (Rancho Santa Fe CSD); Joel Scalzitti (Helix WD); Augie Scalzitti (Padre Dam MWD); and Tony Michel (Rancho Santa Fe FPD). <u>LAFCO Staff in attendance</u>: Executive Officer Keene Simonds; Chief Governmental Analyst Robert Barry; Analyst Linda Zambito; Executive Assistant Ruth Arellano; Administrative Assistant Erica Blom; Consultant John Traylor and GIS Analyst Dieu Ngu. Public Attendees: Chris Palmer, Representative, CSDA.

Executive Officer Keene Simonds introduced new Local Governmental Analyst I Linda Zambito to the Committee members present. Ms. Zambito provided a brief background.

OPEN TIME

Chairwoman Thorner indicated there were no speaker slips received from members of the public for comments.

PRESENTATIONS/UPDATES

Public Affairs Coordinator Chris Palmer with the California Special Districts Association addressed the Committee and provided brief updates on various topics, including SB623, AB1912; and SB929.

CONSENT ITEMS

Item 1

Approval of Minutes of March 16, 2018

On motion of Terry Thomas, seconded by Tom Kennedy, and carried unanimously by the remaining committee members present; the Advisory Committee dispensed with reading the minutes of March 16, 2018 and approved said minutes.

BUSINESS ITEMS

Item 2 LAFCO's Approved Disadvantaged Unincorporated Communities Program

Robert Barry provided a presentation on the recent approval of a formal disadvantaged unincorporated communities program addressing LAFCO's requirements under SB244. Mr. Barry noted the resulting program is codified in LAFCO Policy as L-111. Committee discussion followed.

Item No. 3 LAFCO's Approved Study Schedule for FY 2019-2023

Keene Simonds provided a brief presentation to the Committee members present. Mr. Simonds summarized the new five-year study schedule with respect to scale and focus and noted work would commence in the next few months. Committee discussion followed.

Item No. 4 Legislative Report

Robert Barry provided an update on the recent Legislature's activity including a highlighted update on AB2258. Committee discussion followed.

Item No. 5 <u>Update on Proposals</u>

Keene Simonds provided updates to the Committee on LAFCO's current proposals. John Traylor followed and provided a detailed regarding the Julian-Cuyamaca Fire Protection Districts proposal. Committee discussion followed.

STAFF UPDATES

No staff updates were provided at this time.

COMMITTEE MEMBER REPORTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Advisory Committee members provided updates and information on their district's activities.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Special Districts Advisory Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 11:04 a.m. to the scheduled meeting on September 21, 2018.

RUTH ARELLANO EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT SAN DIEGO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION