December 2, 2013 **10**

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

FROM: Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Selection of 2013-14 LAFCO Chair and Vice Chair and

Reappointment of Alternate Public Member

Towards the end of each calendar year, the Commission selects a Chair and Vice Chair for the subsequent year. In 2013, Chairman Vanderlaan's term as chairman expires after the conclusion of the December 2013 meeting, unless the Commission decides to extend the term. Among the options available to the Commission for 2014 would be to retain the current officers (Chairman Vanderlaan and Vice Chairman Ingalls) for 2014 or rotate one or both positions among other commissioners. The Commission usually makes the selection after considering several factors, such as: (1) Expected workload and anticipated types of jurisdictional changes; (2) Rotation among primary (regular) members and membership categories (county, city, district, public); (3) Qualifications of commissioners under consideration; and (4) Participation level of potential Commission officers.

In terms of expected workload, the Commission will once again be considering a number of fire projects in 2014 affecting special districts, and it could be justified to retain the current officers in their respective positions based on their special district / fire protection experience. On the other hand, if the Commission wished to rotate officers, it would have a number of options. It could move the current Vice Chair (Ingalls) into the chair position and select a new Vice Chair from among the city or county categories.

The Commission should also provide direction as to the expiration of the term held by Alternate Public Member Harry Mathis. This term is scheduled for expiration on May 5, 2014. Mr. Mathis has served on the Commission as an alternate since 2001 and as a regular city member from 1995-2001. He has an excellent attendance record and is always available to serve as public member in the absence of the regular public member. He previously served on the San Diego City Council and the CALAFCO Executive Board. Currently, Mr. Mathis is the Chairman of the Metropolitan Transit Development Board (MTDB).

In summary, the Commission should discuss the process for both the selection of Chair and Vice Chair for 2014 and reappointment / appointment process for the Alternate Public Member held by Harry Mathis. Therefore, it is:

RECOMMENDED: That your Commission

- 1. Review the attached summary of past LAFCO officers and provide direction as to the appointment of a 2014 Chair and Vice Chair, effective January 1, 2014. Among the options discussed in the memorandum would be to:
 - Extend the current terms of the Chairman (Andy Vanderlaan) and Vice Chairman (John Ingalls), effective January 1, 2014 to December 31, 2014, or
 - b. Appoint a new 2014 Chair and Vice Chair among the county, city, or special district categories, or
 - c. Provide alternative direction for the selection of commission officers and appointment.
- 2. Provide direction as to the reappointment of Alternate Public Member Harry Mathis to a new four-year term beginning on May 5, 2014.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL D. OTT Executive Officer

MDO:trl

Attachment

Summary of LAFCO Chair and Vice Chair

SUMMARY OF LAFCO CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR 2003-2013

<u>Year</u>	<u>Category</u>	<u>Chair</u>	<u>Category</u>	Vice Chair
2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013	County City District Public Public County District City County Public	Jacob Davis Pocklington Vanderlaan Vanderlaan Vanderlaan Horn Pocklington Hilliard Jacob Vanderlaan	City District Public County County County District City County Public District	Davis Pocklington Vanderlaan Horn Horn Pocklington Hilliard Jacob Vanderlaan Ingalls

2013-14 Roster San Diego LAFCO

County Members	Representation Category	Term Expires		
Supervisor Bill Horn Supervisor Dianne Jacob Supervisor Greg Cox	(Regular Member) (Regular Member) (Alternate Member)	2015* 2017* 2017*		
City Members				
Councilmember Lorie Zapf Councilmember Lightner	(City of San Diego Regular Member)** (San Diego Alternate Member)**	2013 2013		
Mayor Sam Abed Mayor Jim Janney Councilmember Lorraine Wood	(Regular Member) (Regular Member) (Alternate Member)	2017 2017 2017		
<u>District Members</u>				
Bud Pocklington John Ingalls <i>Jo Mackenzie</i>	(Regular Member) (Regular Member) (Alternate Member)	2016 2017 2015		
Public Member				
Andrew Vanderlaan Harry Mathis (Alternate)	(Regular Member) (Alternate Member)	2017 2014		

^{*} Term reviewed annually by appointing authority.

^{**} The City of San Diego has permanent representation on the San Diego LAFCO per Government Code Section 56328 and is not subject to the appointment process conducted by the City Selection Committee.